Tuesday, December 6, 2022

Histological types of cancer

What is histological classification of cancer?

Cancers are categorized in two ways: by the type of tissue where the cancer originates (histological type), and by the primary site or location in the body where the cancer first grew. This section presents you with the first method: classification of cancer based on a histological form.

There are hundreds of different cancers from a histological perspective, which are divided into six major categories:

  • Carcinoma
  • Sarcoma
  • Myeloma
  • Leukaemia
  • Lymphoma
  • Mixed Types